Posted in Uncommon Controversies

Uncommon Controversies: Let’s Talk About Sex, Baby!

“Hey sexy what’s your name? Can I have your number? Let me take you out somewhere. Oh it’s like that? Forget you then!”

Ladies, we’ve all heard those lines in some form in our lifetime. As ridiculous as that already sounds, imagine it coming out of your own mouth as you see a good-looking guy strutting his stuff down the street. Hilarious right? Make no mistake, women aren’t the timid housewives of the fifties waiting for a man to ask our parents for permission to date anymore. We’re risk takers. Picking up the tab, mowing the lawn, I just calked my mom’s windows last month! We aren’t waiting for confirmation and we aren’t requiring any validation especially when it comes to passion.

I could break sex down on a scientific level and explain that it’s common in every animal and us adding morale to it won’t change that, but I’ll stay in my lane. I don’t know about every woman but I am not ashamed of my sexuality or my drive at all. This is the land of the free and by God I will give it up to whomever I see fit. My judgement is my karma. We live in a man’s world whether we want to admit it or not. A man being promiscuous is considered “Normal” or “Guys being guys” but a woman is expected to hold herself to a higher standard. You know, because how many men you find attractive says a lot about you as a person. If we’ve managed to break down the barriers of politics, race and sexuality why on Earth are we struggling X and Y chromosomes? This shouldn’t even be a controversy!

Personally, I find sexual attraction in the select few that can keep up with me and my crazy mind regardless of their sexual orientation. Weather or not I see us in a relationship is a different ball game entirely, but that’s just me. I’m respectful of all moral standpoints and I would never purposely offend anyone, but if I’m only sexually attracted to you, then I can’t help that. (I know my Grandmother would cringe if I ever said that to her, but if my brother said it….) My point is that if I was too trusting with my body, or if I was deceived by a few jerks, I shouldn’t be made to feel like less of woman. We live and we learn right? These aren’t problems that guys seem to have. In fact the more women a man has been with, the more respect he earns. He’s not made out as dirty or shameful at all. I’ve seen men rant about how all they want is a no-strings-attached, purely physical relationship, then meet a woman who happens to want the same thing and still think less of her. HOW? She’s just like you! You should love that!

I’d love to live in a country where being young and having fun was acceptable no matter your sex. Keeping your judgement away from happy people who’d rather not hear it should be a law. I want freedom to make my own mistakes, the fact that I’m a woman shouldn’t be considered at all. This rant has come to a close, but as usual I want to hear your take… Two cents anyone?

…I know I’m not popular enough for feedback or backlash yet, but this is such an un-discussed topic.


[The featured photo is from a scene in Spike Lee’s 1986 film “She’s Gotta Have It” it actually fits perfectly with the topic… Look it up if you aren’t familiar.]

Author:

Just trying to show you what the inside of my head looks like.

Leave a Reply

