Posted in Personal, Uncategorized

Kicked in the Adolescence: A message for my little sister

     I know I know, you’re older now and you’re ready for all the excitement that comes with being a teenager. It seems that Mommy is a little more “In your face” than usual and I know that you aren’t too comfortable talking to her about it… You probably aren’t feeling this either, but I’m dropping it on you anyway.

We’re a few years apart but times haven’t changed that much. I know my teenage years were enlightening. I learned a lot about people and how they can make you feel, I became more independent with a vivid moral compass, I even fell in love. You’re only Fourteen and you’re a good kid, but I wouldn’t be doing my job as a big sister if I didn’t at least tell you what you’re in for.

The friends that you have now are great, aren’t they? You’d probably scoff at the thought of you cutting ties with them, but it happens. High school is a different place and being a young adult is a lot to deal with. You may not even make it through the first semester before something crazy happens and now Emily is the enemy. You have to remember that you aren’t the only one who’s changing. Your peers will be on their own journeys and that’s perfectly fine. Maybe you only needed them for this part of life… Or maybe they’ll catch the bouquet at your wedding, you never know. Confusing right? We haven’t even scratched the surface.

       OMG! How cute was that guy from third period?! These are the days that I’m hoping never come. There’s no doubt that you’ll notice them. Guys or girls or even both, they’re everywhere and they’re hot! Lessons in love will be the hardest lessons that you’ll learn in my opinion. What makes them so damn difficult is that you’re pretty much on your own. I can try to sit here and spill about how you have to be strong, don’t fall for the games and all that jazz, but love plays tricks with your mind. Sometimes you’ll know exactly what you should’ve done and still do the opposite. Sometimes you’ll question things about yourself like your looks, your intelligence or even your friends. That can be a lot to go through at your age-especially while you’re still trying to figure yourself out. All I can think to tell you is don’t be afraid to say no if you aren’t ready for anything. Stay in your comfort zone it’s not a race and some things can never be undone so keep everything in moderation.  Also, remember the things that you love about yourself. I don’t care if it’s something as simple as the way you tie your shoes, when you feel the love for yourself start to fade… YOUR’E IN DANGER and you have to make a decision: Is it going to be their happiness or yours?

So there it is. I know I haven’t covered everything, but there’s nothing you can’t ask me. I love you and I can’t wait to see what kind of woman you become. Ever since you were little I’ve tried my hardest to keep you safe. I’m still in awe at how big you are and how much you know. The next few years are only going to be as good as you make them, so go out and make something beautiful. Laugh til’ you cry, sing a song, break a rule if you have to, that’s the cool part about being a teenager mistakes are expected. As always, I’m rooting for you to come out of this like the beautiful champ that you are. Now go and be the best version of yourself than you can.

“Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.” 

-Anne Frank

Author:

Just trying to show you what the inside of my head looks like.

3 thoughts on “Kicked in the Adolescence: A message for my little sister

Leave a Reply

